Our certifications

AS9100 Revision C (2009), Quality Management Systems - Requirements for Aviation, Space and Defense Organizations

AS9100 is a widely adopted and standardized quality management system for the aerospace industry. It was released in October, 1999, by the Society of Automotive Engineers and the European Association of Aerospace Industries. AS9100 replaces the earlier AS9000 and fully incorporates the entirety of the current version of ISO 9000, while adding requirements relating to quality and safety. Major aerospace manufacturers and suppliers worldwide require compliance and/or registration to AS9100 as a condition of doing business with them.

Prior to development of AS9100 standards for Quality Management Systems, the U.S. military applied two specifications to supplier quality and inspection programs, respectively, MIL-Q-9858A, Quality Program Requirements, and MIL-I-45208A, Military Specification: Inspection System Requirements. For years these specifications had represented the basic tenets of the aerospace industry. However, when the U.S. government adopted ISO 9000, it withdrew those two quality standards. Large aerospace companies then began requiring their suppliers to develop quality programs based on ISO 9000.

The update of AS9100 from revision B to C is largely to address the following question:Those organizations had documented controls that conformed to the standard; however, there were insufficient processes in place to assure effectiveness of those controls. The response in this AS9100 revision is to elevate the requirements for Risk Management and to make Risk Management an integrated theme throughout the standard.

A major challenge to AS9100B-compliant organizations was the new AS9100 auditing standards defined in AS9101 Revision D, which eliminates the clause-based compliance checklist and requires organizations to provide evidence of effectiveness of their systems and processes.

Summary of Changes between AS9100B and AS9100C:

  • Greater Emphasis on Risk Management
  • Introduces “Special Requirements”
  • Introduces “Critical Items”
  • Measure: Requirements conformance
  • Measure: Delivery performance
  • Adopt Proven Product Development Processes
  • Eliminate “recurring corrective actions”



Read More